Plagiarism

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction' started by llIlI_LR-RIPPER_IllII, Feb 13, 2012.

1. Hi! I'm Belle. I have a bachelors degree in English and Creative Writing (focus in literary fiction). I'm currently taking some time off from university in order to finish writing a novel (but I keep playing kaw instead :/). However, when I do go back, I will be in a graduate program for English Lit or literary fiction (I haven't decided which direction I want to go yet). I hate plagiarism. As a moderator in KAW, it is my responsibility to keep Kingdoms at War a clean and safe environment for all of the players. By allowing plagiarized works to flow freely in the fan fiction section of forums, I feel that I am being neglectful in my duties as a Moderator.

KaW is a game for ages nine plus. There are very malleable minds who play this game. I feel that if I allow persons to publish plagiarized works, I am supporting by omission the act of plagiarizing. If plagiarized works are allowed to flow freely in the fan fiction section, young, easily molded minds might get the impression that plagiarism is okay. These students might attempt to take the "easy" route in a scholastic environment and copy and paste some nonsense off of the internet. This will most likely result in the student getting caught and punished. However, there is a chance that the student will get away with it and continue plagiarizing works.